Home Reviews Parliamentary...

Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2014

PPL and Jazz Services are proud to announce voting is now open for the Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2014

London — 6 January 2014. It is announced today that online voting is now open for the tenth Parliamentary Jazz Awards which will take place at the House of Commons Terrace Pavilion on Tuesday 14 May. Entries are open to everyone, and forms can be completed online from the Jazz Services website at www.jazzservices.org.uk.The final deadline for entries is 12 noon on Monday 3 February 2014.

The Parliamentary Jazz Awards is organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), and supported by music licensing company PPL in conjunction with Jazz Services, JazzUK, Jazzwise, and the Jazz Section of the Musicians’ Union.

The categories for the 2014 Awards have been updated to reflect the ever-increasing scope of talent from within the UK’s jazz scene. Among the revisions is the introduction of the ‘Jazz Newcomer of the Year’ award which will honour the finest fresh talent from the last twelve months, and the separation of the ‘Musician of the Year’ award into ‘Instrumentalist of the Year’ and ‘Vocalist of the Year’, to allow for greater acknowledgment of the various art forms comprising jazz performance.
The nine categories for the Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2013 are:

· Jazz Album of the Year (released in 2013 by a UK band or musicians)

· Jazz Vocalist of the Year (UK-based vocalist who impressed in 2013)

· Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year (UK-based musician who impressed in 2013)

· Jazz Ensemble of the Year (UK-based group who impressed in 2013)

· Jazz Venue of the Year (including jazz clubs, venues, festivals and promoters)

· Jazz Media Award (including broadcasters, journalists, magazines, blogs, listings and books)

· Jazz Education Award (to an educator or project for raising the standard of jazz education in the UK)

· Jazz Newcomer of the Year (UK-based artist, musician or group with a debut album released in 2013)

· Services to Jazz Award (to a living person for their outstanding contribution to jazz in the UK).
PPL_4col300 PPL_4col300PPL has been supporting the awards since 2005 and last year’s winners included: Guy Barker — Jazz Musician of the Year; Impossible Gentlemen — Jazz Ensemble of the Year; John Surman’s ‘Saltash Bells’ — Jazz Album of the Year and the late Stan Tracey OBE — Services to Jazz Award.

imageAPPJAG has over 100 members from the House of Commons and House of Lords, across all political parties. Its aim is to encourage a wider and deeper enjoyment of jazz, to increase Parliamentarians’ understanding of the industry and issues surrounding it, as well as promoting jazz as a musical form, and to raise its profile both inside and outside of Parliament.