Home Homepage Features New PRSF reci...

New PRSF recipients and more

Congratulations to BASCA members Gary Carpenter, Jessica Curry, Stuart MacRae, John McLeod and Lynne Plowman who have just been given awards by the PRSF Composers’ Fund.

The Composers’ Fund aims to support the creative and professional development of talented composers by offering direct access to funding at pivotal stages in their careers. The fund offers £150,000 annually to support composers and enable them to realise projects and ambitions that may not be possible through traditional commissioning models.

In addition, the Chair of BASCA’s Jazz Executive Committee, Issie Barratt, who has been awarded a PRSF Women Make Music grant to fund the commissioning and development of 3 new and eclectic works, written specifically for a newly formed all-female dectet of improvising composers. The composers who will create the three works are Yazz Ahmed, Tori Freestone and Issie Barratt.

Congratulations also to BASCA members Stuart MacRae, John McLeod and James MacMillan who have been shortlisted for the Scottish Awards for New Music. Winners will be announced on 8 March 2017.