Home Homepage Features ECCO call for...

ECCO call for orchestral works – Belgrade 2018

Submit an orchestral work for a chance to have it performed at the ECSA General Assembly in Belgrade


Closing date for entries: Monday 30 April 2018

Performance date: Tuesday 18 September 2018


About ECCO

ECCO (European Contemporary Composers Orchestra) is the name for the bi-annual concerts presented by ECSA (European Composer and Songwriter Alliance) to coincide with its General Assembly and Creators Conference each year. The programme for ECCO concerts is drawn from a competitive Europe-wide call. This will be the tenth European Contemporary Composers Orchestra (ECCO) Concert. Selected works will be performed by the RTS Symphony Orchestra conducted by Bojan Sudjić on 18th September 2018 in the “Kolarac” Concert Hall in Belgrade. The ECSA General Assembly is a high-profile meeting of composer organisations from all over Europe and we encourage all Standard and Professional members to submit works for this call. Previous performances include:

  • The Stargazer by Lynne Plowman performed by Ensemble Sturm und Klang at the ECSA Creators Conference in Brussels, February 2015
  • Standing as I do before God by Cecilia McDowall and It Sounded as if the Streets were Running by Jonathan Dove performed by the BBC Singers in London as part of the ECSA General Assembly hosted by BASCA, November 2015
  • Musical Chairs by Michael Berkeley and Strike Opponent’s Ears With Both Fists by Julian Grant performed by Ensemble Sturm und Klang at the Creators Conference in Brussels, February 2016
  • Concerto for Orchestra 1st & 4th movements by John Casken performed by RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra in Ljubljana, September 2016
  • Plainsong for Strings by Jennifer Fowler performed by Wiener Concert-Verein in Vienna, October 2017


  • 3 Flutes (one doubling piccolo)
  • 3 Oboes (one doubling cor anglais)
  • 3 Clarinets (B flat or A, one doubling bass clarinet)
  • 3 Bassoons (one doubling contra bassoon)
  • 4 Horns
  • 3 Trumpets
  • 3 Trombones
  • 1 Tuba
  • 1 Timpani
  • 3 Percussion
  • 1 Harp
  • Strings (12/10/8/6/5)


  • No piano, keyboard, organ, voices or electronics are available
  • ECCO encourages pieces of all lengths but ask that the piece does not exceed 15 minutes
  • Works must have been written within the last twenty years and have already received a
  • This is a call for orchestra only. On this occasion we cannot consider concertos or works with
    extended solo parts
  • This call is open to Standard and Professional BASCA members
  • Works may be submitted by the composer or their publisher

How to submit

Please send the following by e-mail to natalie@basca.org.uk by midnight on Monday 30 April 2018. Large files may be sent via an online file transfer service such as Dropbox or WeTransfer.

  • PDF of the score
  • Recording of the entry (MP3 format only)
  • Biography of the composer
  • Contact information of the composer
  • Photo of the composer (with credit information and authorization to use)
  • Programme notes (if available)


BASCA will select up to three works from those it receives to submit to ECSA. The ECCO Artistic Committee will then select the concert programme. We will inform all composers whether or not their work is one of three submitted by BASCA to ECSA and, if so, whether it has been selected for the concert.